Hosta (Patriot)

Last year, I visited an enchanting garden in Northumberland at Belsay Hall and Castle. It is a two-hour drive from where I live, so quite a day out, but as before it was well worth the trip. I also came across a new addition for my ornamental garden.

image

The hosta might not like the conditions in my garden as it could be too hot and dry when it’s a good day in summer – and the soil might be too wet the rest of the time. However, under the apple tree, where the soil has been conditioned with lots of manure, it’s possibly okay.

Anyway, it would be a shame not to show you the Quarry Garden at Belsay, which I am so taken with, so here a few shots from today.

image

image

image

image

image

© Helen Butt, May 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hosta (Patriot)

  1. The quarry garden is enchanted.
    Honey

  2. andy1076 says:

    A person could create so many tales just walking through the garden, Especially with that charred wall 🙂

  3. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    lovely post and thank you for sharing Helen have a Blessed day

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

