Giving birth was easier!

After the last few days of partying, I felt the tug to get on with some gardening. There was in any case the pressing issue of my fir tree, which had outgrown its pot and was starting to look like it might die if it wasn’t put in the ground soon.

So, I dug the hole and proceeded to pull the tree out of its pot. Mmmm… I pulled and I pulled and I kept pulling. I tried standing on the edge of the pot. I laid it on its side to give myself leverage from a different angle.

image

Then one final push and at last it was out!

And now it is standing proud in the garden.

image

I’ve kept the ivy that was also in the pot with the fir tree as I think the whole has had enough upheaval for one day – I will see about giving the ivy a new home another day.

And the next question is: what am I going to put in the pot?

© Helen Butt, May 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Giving birth was easier!

  1. That was quite the title! I’ve been there…root-bound plants are a challenge to move.

  2. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Awesome post Helen what would you like to put in the pot fruit or veg ?

  3. How big is that fir tree going to get? Do you know? I’ve had problems digging up a fir tree but mine was in the ground. My son had to help me it was that stubborn! The main root seemed to go to China! It was my favorite fir and it was slowly dying. I was broken-hearted. It had such a wonderful fragrance. But I now have a sturdy Austrian Pine in its place that is doing very well. Hated to lose that fir tree though.

    • Pines do smell so divine, don’t they? I hadn’t realised mine had an aroma until I had to manhandle it yesterday.
      Not sure how big it will get – it’s about two and a half foot tall at the moment – four years old but probably restricted because of being in a pot all this time.

      I can understand your sadness at losing your tree but glad you have got a replacement 🙂

      • Thank you. I’m just concerned that your pine will get so big that you won’t be able to dig it up yourself and you will be stuck with a massive tree in a place you don’t really want. Any chance of that happening? If I had known my White pine was going to get so big, I would have planted it somewhere else. Even though it’s huge, there is no danger to my house but I still wish I would have planted it further away!

        • Thank you for your concern Marcella. I had forgotten to take into account how roots might damage my house. But then my apple tree is probably stunted because of the almost impenetrable subsoil (rock), so I imagine the fir will have a hard time growing too. Should it take off though,I will have it straight out!

          • Yes, that is a concern too. Some trees have shallow roots. Weeping willow trees are notorious for having wandering roots. I wanted to put one in my yard and the landscaper warned me not to! They’re so beautiful but I guess I’ll have to admire them in a park-like setting.

          • Yes, maybe 😦 After your last comment I did a search on tree roots and mine should be okay as it is more than ten feet from the house….

          • Good! I would hate to learn you had to dig up a tree or worse, hire somebody to dig it up for you because it was so big and the roots became so deep that you couldn’t do it yourself. Also, the previous owners of my house removed a tree that may have been to close to the bathroom. This bathroom used to have a tub but they removed it. There are water pipes sticking out of the wall (about 3 inches) so I think they may have had a root problem. I left the bathroom as is and instead of a full second bath, I keep it as a large 1/2 bath. Hope that makes sense!

          • Yes! Sounds like a wise move 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

