Up with the garden path 2014 Part Three: the bypass loppers

I woke up this morning with a degree of excitement: it was a day without any commitments or social engagements and I was going to one of my favourite garden centres to buy something to cut my hawthorn bush down with.

Earlier in the week, I had tried using my lawn cutters. Yes, it worked. Not easy on the hands or arms and a bit unwielding, though. (Plus, I didn’t want them to go blunt.) Not so the bypass loppers I bought this morning. They made cutting off the branches a bit of a doddle. In less than an hour I had finished and it all fitted in the household green waste bin as well.

image

One of my neighbours popped her head out while the job was in progress. She didn’t exactly say she was pleased to see the bush go. At the same time, there is no doubt that she too will be glad to see the back of it. So two people pleased – now I wonder what my daughter’s reaction will be!

© Helen Butt, May 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Up with the garden path 2014 Part Three: the bypass loppers

  1. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    lovely update thanks for sharing have a blessed day it looks better with out it their

  2. bridget says:

    You can never please everyone so it’s better to just please yourself!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

