Ruby Anniversary (Rose)

Yesterday, I finally purchased a rose. My daughter has been hankering after one for a long time, albeit a pink one (now there’s a surprise!). The pink ones on offer didn’t have quite the same appeal, though.

image

You know when you see something and it is just too right to walk away from? Yes, you’ve got it – this was one of those moments. The rich red of Ruby Anniversary, the rose in question, was too beautiful to pass up on. Besides, later in the day I took home enough rhubarb from the allotment to pay for it, I’m sure.

My daughter grumbled all the way home, since she associates the colour red with evil. I told her that in China they believe the opposite, so hopefully this rose is a portend of good things to come.

Β© Helen Butt, June 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ruby Anniversary (Rose)

  1. Catherine C says:

    My few roses always have blackspot, but beautiful flowers and aromas!!

  2. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    lovely update Helen

  3. Is that the same as ruby wedding? I have that on the plot. Looking forward to splashes of red. And yes, in Asian cultures, red is deemed good luck

    • Thanks for the comfirmation that red means good luck in Asian cultures.

      Not sure if Ruby Anniversary and Wedding are the same but perhaps they are related. The buds on mine have come out beautifully since I bought it on Saturday – hope yours bloom soon πŸ™‚

  4. Karen says:

    I couldn’t have passed that beautiful rose by either. πŸ™‚

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

