Sunday morning gardening

I love being able to get up and do as I please rather than having to rush around… Actually, my mind was already whirring with ideas and plans as I woke up. Some of them are for a later date but to start with I wanted to plant out one of my pumpkins at home. (No matter how brilliant it is to have an allotment, there is nothing nicer than popping out my back door to inspect and pick the fruits of my labour!)

image

Anyway, as it needs to be hardened off, I have covered it with a cloche. Not sure how long I will keep it on but I found last year that this method worked very well for the tomato plants. They however are not ready to go out – a situation which I am finding a little frustrating as I would like the windowsill space – but at least the cloche should be available by the time they are 🙂

image

I’ve also potted on more aubergines and my daughter’s sunflower, which she is growing through school. Oh and sown more cucumber (inside).

On the apple tree there is one apple which seems to be doing well. I’ve noticed that many of the apple buds have come to nothing/dropped off but it will be interesting to see how many apples there finally are.

image

© Helen Butt, June 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday morning gardening

  1. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Lovely post Helen open of mind the flower buds had flowered but then fell off have a blessed week

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

