In between the sunshine

It was beautifully sunny and warm when I woke up this morning, so I was expecting a lovely time at the allotment….. Ha! It started to rain just before I set off. Then on my way home glorious sunshine appeared once more.

Still, in spite of being totally sodden, I achieved quite a lot. This included letting the skies do the watering under the cloches, which saved me a job šŸ˜‰

When I took one cloche off, I noticed that the lettuce had had a growth spurt since I thinned out the line last week. And look at the difference between the lettuce growing under protection and the end of the row which doesn’t fit under it.

image

Other progress, I hope, is that the nasturtiums I sowed by the runner beans seem to be coming through. On the other hand, the beans themselves are nowhere to be seen. I hope the seeds haven’t been nobbled by what could be vine weevils. In any case, if they have not made an appearance by the end of the week, I will sow some more. And do a bit of research into vine weevils.

image

Ā© Helen Butt, June 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In between the sunshine

  1. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Lovely post I just remembered my nettle tea I had brewing and have just sieved it and made one bottle up and watered the rest and watered through my upside down bottles I have

  2. jane says:

    Hope it isn’t vine weevils, was with me.. might be an idea to after soaking over night putting into pots first to speed them up as it is getting late now.. I am attempting another lot like this putting in warm house as less likely to be attacked if bigger x

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

