Pondering….

Yesterday, I got an email from the secretary of my allotment committee. It said that I had passed the inspection BUT I had 30 days to create a path between my plot and the one on my right.

My first reaction was to sort this issue out. Then I thought about it: if I do the path, it will detract from keeping the weeds at bay where I am already growing things, which could lead to me failing the next inspection in 30 days’ time. It would also lead to me potentially losing crops as they cannot be tended properly.

I know that if I consecrated every waking moment to the venture I might succeed but when I factor in the drive to and from and all the other things I need and want to do instead… My head and heart are both saying it looks like I need to say bye bye to my allotment plot.

On the other hand, here is the first strawberry of 2014: in my garden ๐Ÿ™‚
image

ยฉ Helen Butt, June 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Health, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pondering….

  1. andy1076 says:

    Ah the first strawberry of many more to come ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Strawberry’s are looking good my heart goes out to you Helen

    • Oh, thank you Linda! I am a bit cut up after all the work I’ve done but with the vine weevils and the distance – better to concentrate on making my garden into the haven I want ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. streepie says:

    Congrats on your first strawberry! Enjoy it! We’ve been eating plenty over the last few days (but then, the slugs had their share, too).
    As for the path – will a temporary one (like trampling the earth and putting down planks) do for the allotment committee? That should be easily done, and will not distract you from pulling weeds.
    I am always grateful that I have the veggie patch in my own garden – the allotment committee would be VERY unhappy about the weeds ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Thank you – I don’t get many strawberries but they are always enjoyable ๐Ÿ™‚

      Also, thanks for the suggestion of putting planks down. That would help with weed control as well. I am inclined to see the email about the results of the inspection as a wake-up call that I am biting off more than I can chew with this particular plot, though. I really need one close to where I live which has already been cultivated, I think…..

  4. Helen, don’t give up so easily. Call the secretary with your concerns. They may be able to either make some allowances for you or suggest another “path” that would make you happy. Surely they must appreciate the work you’ve already put into it. Remember, it’s the squeaky wheel that gets oiled. Squeak! What have you got to lose by squeaking?

    • Good point, Marcella! I do have nothing to lose… Except perhaps spending lots of money on petrol and not getting the value in produce.

      I think the committee do recognise my efforts, otherwise they would have insisted on my sorting out all the overgrowth within the next month.

      Mmm… I have to admit I have lost heart, though ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

