Welcome to the new Wonder World

After much tossing and turning, I went up to the allotment this evening for what is probably the last time to collect my belongings and harvest as much as I can.

image

The plot after harvesting

The sense of relief is immense… There is a saying in Arabic that if a draught is bothering you, you should close the window. When it comes down to it, it really is that simple. Hobbies are about fun, not about pressure and feeling bad when you stop to do something which is either more important or more fun.

Anyway, I’ve now got a nice pile of rhubarb, onions, garlic, lettuce, broad beans and radish to do something with. I also picked my first broad beans from home this morning. Perfect.

image

Home broad beans

So my back garden is now my Wonder World. It is going to take a lot more work to get it where I want but it makes me so happy to see it each day.

image

Wonder World sign rehomed

The phacelia (green manure) has just started to flower. And having dug up all the garlic, I’ve sown some more phacelia in this patch of ground – after removing the brambles which were coming up there via the main plant’s root system, with thorns as well, even though the parent is thornless!

image

Phacelia flowering

© Helen Butt, June 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, In the kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Welcome to the new Wonder World

  1. lizard100 says:

    Sounds like a positive change.

  2. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Lovely post Helen and I am sure being able to just step out side will be better for you both have a blessed week

    • Thank you Linda! I realised when I took the plot in, I would probably find it frustrating to have to drive to collect veg. It’s just a shame that I don’t have quite the space to grow enough at home but my soil is improving and my techniques are, too 😉

  3. epov88 says:

    Awesome post 😉

  4. I am glad to hear that you are still going to be gardening in your back yard. If the allotment was causing you too much stress and streching your time and energy too thin, I think it was a smart move to give it up. Your down sizing to put the energy into your yard at home will give you more time for other things. The convience of you can just walk out your door and putter around your garden,when you have the time, hopefully will be more relaxing and enjoyable for you. Have a great day!
    Honey

    • Thank you, Honey. The allotment was an interesting idea and I have gained knowledge from doing it. But it was becoming another occupation and I went part time at work a couple of years ago to avoid this very scenario lol!!

      • Our garden has been a project that has taken 4 years of work and patience to get this far. We have enjoyed every minute of it. There is two of us and we have had help with heavy machinery. Every year you will see improvements untill on day your dream materializes. You’ll find us in the garden with music blasting. We grill in the back yard and might have a cold beer just admiring how it looks.
        I hope you find the time to enjoy all that you have accomplished. This year you have done a lot of work in your back yard garden. It shows in all your pictures. Find what works for you and your lifestyle.
        Honey

  5. Good fo ryou, as you say its meant to be a hobby an dfun and if it stops feeling like that then its time to change. Good luck to you and your wonder world !

  6. Ah, you answered my question here from one I had in another post! Glad to hear you could take your plants!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

