The moving cloche

This evening I had to rush back to work, so whilst in town I thought a trip to our favourite Chinese restaurant was in order. The mangetout were delicious and I decided then and there that the first job back home would be to try and salvage the badly nibbled plants with one of my big cloche.

The second job was to plant out another tomato plant – and cover that with a cloche, too. The pumpkin it had previously been protecting must surely have hardened off enough now. This you can just see poking its head round the compost bin.

image

Tomatoes and mangetout protected by cloches

I think I am running out of space for anything else, but we shall see. There are another nine tomato plants as well as a pumpkin and several cucumber plants to find a home for, so maybe some growbags are in order…..

© Helen Butt, June 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The moving cloche

  1. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Awesome post Helen thank you for sharing have a blessed weekend

  2. I think you have more than enough room for more plants, It is organizing the garden and making small path way for easy maintance and harvesting. I planted a whole bed of lettuces, spinach onions and leeks this year. Then I realized it was going to be difficult to harvest because the bed was too wide to stand on the side and reach into the bed. The lettuces didn’t do well. I plan to reseed it. This time I am going to leave a path between patches with that in mind. We will see how it works out. my garden is a work in progress.
    Honey

    • I need to find a better way of organising the garden but part of my problem is not being able to plant something because it has already been planted there recently 😦

      • I have been gardening all my life. I have only the last vegetable patch for only four years. You get a feel for it. You just have to trust your instincts and let you imagination loose. You learn from your successes and your failures.

        I watch a lot of shows on gardening. I read a lot when I don’t know anything on the subject. I read blogs and web pages on the subject to get tips and advice when something new pops up.

        I have seen people trellising plants to maximizing space in small gardens. They get huge harvest. There is one british show that I watched. A young woman had a lot similiar to yours and I was amazed what she fit into the space. She mixed flowers,vegetables and spices together with little path ways. She even kept a few chickens in a coop in the back. She show how to cook and perserve her harvest. I only watched a few episodes this season. I can not remember the name of it. Then there was an american family in LA who has been featured on National Geographic. They had a bigger yard but not a huge yard. They grew things tightly together and vertical gardened. They sold produce to chef’s in exclusive resteraunts as well. That is what I was trying to experiment with the lettuces, onions and shallots, potatoes and strawberries this year. The I need to replant and see how it works. It is just trial and error. Be bold! Have fun with it! It is a blast when you succeed. It sad when you don’t, but it makes me determined to try something new the next time until I figure it out.

        I always followed the plant spacing instructions on the seed packets. I am learning that is not always necessary.
        Honey

        • Thank you for these insights, Honey. Vertical would certainly help.

          Last year, my tomatoes got botrytis, so I am concerned about planting too closely (they are a bush variety). I also need to bear in mind the washing line, so while there is a patch which isn’t being cultivated at all, and which I would like to use, it’s not suitable for tall plants 😉

    • P.S. All gardens are a work in progress!!

  3. is that garlic I can spy? I dug mine up the other day an dit’s drying at home too

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

