The window that works

Every morning, as I open the blinds and curtains I look expectantly at the various seedlings behind them. Yes, they’re fine, yes, they need watering…. Some plants might eventually need repotting, too.

I’m particularly keen to see what happens with the aubergines. Of course, there will ideally be some fruit to eat – but what exactly will the plants look like, what about the flowers? Perhaps I am actually going to find out as the two on my kitchen windowsill seem to be coming along now.

image

This seems also to be best spot in the house for raising seedlings. In a discussion with Honey at puppiesinparadise, we established that some windows seemed to work better than others, and my kitchen is definitely a winner here. What about your windowsills – which work best for you?

© Helen Butt, July 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The window that works

  1. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Lovely news Helen thank you for sharing

  2. squooze says:

    I have a Window That Works as well – but its our bedroom window upstairs. It drives the hubby-to-be mad but it means I can peak at the seedlings every morning as soon as I get up!
    Thanks for creating such an inspiring blog – your posts always bring a smile to my face and its always great to see what other people are managing to achieve in the gardens. I think we are working with similar climates too!
    I have nominated you for the very inspiring blogger award. You can find all the details here http://wp.me/p4rpUx-4R.
    Keep up the good work! 🙂
    https://squooze.wordpress.com

    • Thanks very much for the award, squooze! And for the compliment about my blog 🙂

      I too smiled when you mentioned waking and being able to check on your bedroom windowsill. My daughter’s bedroom windowsill works better than mine but she is quite territorial about it.

      Have a good weekend.

  3. I always have to think about keeping the cats away from them. So now i use the bathroom floor.

  4. I don’t have much luck with my windows. Seeds will sprout, but the seedlings are weeny so I have to hurry and plant them outside before they die. I’m amazed at your success on the window!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

