Waiting for the fennel seeds

Last July, I had a space in my garden and wondered what to put in it. So after a bit of research and a trip to the garden centre, I decided on florence fennel. I had discovered the stuff when I was pregnant: there was a sachet of fennel tea in the pack given at my booking-in appointment with the doctor. These packs are basically to advertise products but the tea made a refreshing change, especially as I was in the throes of all day morning sickness and couldn’t palate much else.

Anyway, I subsequently came across florence fennel, bulbs as well as ferns at one of the organic farms I occasionally pass. Still not sure what to do with the bulb but I didn’t get the chance to experiment with last year’s crop. The seedlings weren’t thinned out enough so the bulbs didn’t mature sufficiently.

Never mind, the tea I’ve made with the ferns is great – different from the shop-bought variety. And there was greenery in the garden all winter. The plants just kept producing…. And growing… And now they have flowered.

image

Flowering florence fennel

So, though the plants need to come out to make way for something else, I am going to wait for the seeds. In my first year of gardening,  I replanted seeds from the herb but this time I will store them to be eaten in the dark winter months.

© Helen Butt, July 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Waiting for the fennel seeds

  1. What a huge plant! It looks like it is a tree. It is almost as tall as your fence. I have never heard of fennel tea. Hmmm
    Honey

  2. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Awesome update thank you for sharing Helen have a blessed day

  3. And then you will have fennel everywhere! 🙂 Nice to have something from summer to enjoy in the winter.

  4. Fennel bulb tastes great roasted. It is also very good sliced thinly in a salad. It’s very refreshing! I’ve thought about growing it myself because the cost in the supermarket is too high. I think I will try it now that I know you’ve had success!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

