Gardening mishaps continued

Arrived home this evening to the following scene:

image

Nothing in my garden appears to have been damaged and the people who decided it was okay to leave these branches on my property should be coming back tomorrow to take them away – after my neighbours phoned up to complain. I don’t think they are too happy with the mess the tree surgeons have made of their trees either!

It does however look like the gate has been damaged by falling branches as well. So my other neighbour is going to be non-too-pleased, considering the effort she has just made to paint it.

I have to say, though, that I find the situation more comic that annoying. I’ve had a good week at work and hope to have a fantastic weekend. The weather is also warm and sunny, so it could all be a lot, lot worse.

© Helen Butt, July 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Gardening mishaps continued

  1. andy1076 says:

    geeez, inconsiderate people out there! :S

  2. I had neighbors who had a tree with a huge branch that fell on my chain link fence and gave it a good dent. When they did nothing about it, I went over and paid them a visit and told them about it and said the branch was also on top of another neighbor’s mini-barn. (It was a very big, heavy branch.) All they did was cut the branch (because part of it was also hanging over in my yard) and did nothing about the dent/damage to my fence. These folks eventually died and left their house to their kids who neglected it for 4 or 5 years until recently. For the past 2-3 weeks, contractors have been going in and out of their house/property fixing the place up because it had really gone downhill and was an eyesore on the block. (Lucky me, I live next door.) Last week, one of the contractors, a woman, came to my house and tried to get in! She somehow managed to open the storm door even though it was locked and has a dead bolt! Big as she was, she couldn’t open the steel door, thank God! Was this a mistake on her part? Had she gone to the wrong house or was she pretending to go to the wrong house? I saw her the week before when I was outside mowing my front lawn. I know she saw me unless she is high on cocaine and out of it. (Cocaine is used in epidemic proportions here in Indy, I’ve been hearing on the news lately. I didn’t call the police, although my son said I should, but I did take down the license plate number of their vehicle. I couldn’t find any damage to my storm door and so I am still puzzled as to how she got it open because I always keep it locked. I keep all my doors dead-bolted. Anyway, didn’t mean to be so long-winded. Just wanted to say that inconsiderate people are everywhere. They don’t corner the market in any city, state, or country.

    • No, they clearly don’t. Your neighbours sound far from hot. My parents had a similar problem but when in the end my dad complained to their landlady (fortunately the house was rented) she soon had them out. The house was a complete mess inside but has been done up and is on the market, so fingers crossed some nice people move in!

  3. Catherine C says:

    You say that tree surgeons left the trees like this!! Bad workmanship, I’d say! Hope they clean it up for you.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

