Poor mouse!

A few weeks ago, I saw a mouse in my garden. I proceeded to get some peppermint oil, which I used to soak cottonwool. This I put round the garden and in the Wendy house.

After that, I didn’t see the mouse anymore, so I thought the oil had done trick…. I didn’t want to chance fate by writing anything, though.

Now, I’ve just had a little shock. Whilst going to collect some water from one of the rain collection tubs, I saw a dead mouse. It had drowned – poor thing!

This is not at all what I had hoped. Previously, there was a honey bee which drowned in such a tub, so I am wondering now about my rain collection methods. At the same time, there are no drainpipes on my property, so is there an alternative?

© Helen Butt, July 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Social and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Poor mouse!

  1. andy1076 says:

    Wonder if Liz may have some ideas, I’m curious myself now hum..

  2. Poor little mouse but I suspect it was perhaps looking for water that led to it’s eventual end and nothing you did. Do you know why the mouse was in the garden in the first place? Was there anything to attract it to your garden?
    It’s never easy collecting rain water even my watering cans have dead bees in them sometimes and they have quite small openings. I’m not sure there are alternatives but you never know, someone might come up with a cunning plan!

  3. bmary says:

    Put something inside the tubs so they can crawl out. We used to have this problem with a pool that came into disuse. He put a board inside that leaned out and it was fine after that.

  4. bmary says:

    Or could you put wire mesh over the top?

  5. You could put window screen over the top water can come inside it still. It will help keep the water clean because leaves and other things can’t in it. I read on someone elses blog that they did it and recommended it. I can’t remember which blog though.
    Honey

  6. Float mini life preservers? Just kidding. I saw something about this on This Old House on PBS. You might google it to see what comes up. I think they had a cover on their barrel and collected the rain water from the gutter of a house. If you’ve got an open barrel collecting rainwater, you’re inviting mosquitoes, sorry to say. Here in the US, they’re making a lot of noise (people) about making sure you cover up or wear mosquito repellant because of contracting West Nile Virus.

  7. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    lovely post even though sad I sleep on your collecting problem and let you know in the morning

  8. lizard100 says:

    Shame about the mouse. Glad you tried the peppermint oil. If you’re water butts are open is it worth creating an escape route? I’m thinking either a floating flat piece of wood on the water or a pole that stands I. The butt that can clear the top edge so anything that falls in can crawl out.

  9. We have water barrels here and there were always bees or beetles in them so we float a piece of wood for them to crawl onto. It helps. 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

