A packed day

Just before I went out to my daughter’s sports day, my neighbour called over the fence to say they were going to deal with the branches that ended up in my garden. So, by two o’ clock in the afternoon, everything chez moi was back to normal. Good start.

Then after a horseriding lesson in the early evening, we went to the staff festival at work. This is an event laid on by my employer as a thank-you for our work: great perk….. This year, my daughter had her face painted and got lots and lots of balloons. Then we discovered plant pot painting and a plant stall.

The plant I bought was a Cosmos. Then I sat down to paint a pot. I’ve used acrylic pens before to paint designs on plates and think they are a great medium, so this is a must-have at some point in the near future.

The woman running this activity owns an alternative cafe in one of our neighbouring villages. I’ve never been before but now that I’ve discovered a way of walking there along the canal, I hope there will be time over the summer to take a look.

But back to the pot. Once the paint was dry, I filled it with compost (very good quality potting compost I have to say) and oregano seeds. My daughter did likewise, only her seeds were basil. So beautiful pots and beautiful herbs – and new ideas for pots and presents (to be confirmed).

As if this wasn’t enough good for one day, as we were finishing off, the woman who had the plant stall gave us a tray of leek plugs. Now I just need to find the space to plant them… Where in the garden is the soil six inches deep?

image

Pots and plants at staff festival

© Helen Butt, July 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A packed day

  1. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Lovely post Helen thank you for sharing

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

