Leeks: for wont of a dibber

I’ve overspent already this month, so buying a dibber to plant the leeks I acquired on Friday was not on the agenda. However, there were six of them waiting to go into the ground…

So, while I put my thinking cap on, I finally sowed some fennel seed. And planted the latest batch of runner beans. If all goes to plan, therefore, come autumn there should be some fennel bulbs and mountains of runner beans (one of my colleagues has a particular penchant for them, so she should be pleased as well).

Then the holes in the ground created by the telescopic pole for the washing line caught my imagination. I had kept the old pole in case it ever had a new use and just now it did: making holes for the leeks.

image

Telescopic pole making holes for leeks

I have recently read in book entitled Weedless Gardening (unfortunately I didn’t note the author’s name) that said crops can be grown in between the green manure. In this way, the latter continues to protect the surrounding soil and might attract beneficial insects which protect the former as well. Whether or not either these happens, though, the buckwheat does look pretty and the leeks in no way detract from this image.

image

Leeks in between the buckwheat

© Helen Butt, July 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Leeks: for wont of a dibber

  1. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Lovely post Helen thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. Very cool, good info about the green manure. I had never heard of a dibber but it’s so fun to say everyone should have one!! LOL.

    • 😀 When I first used green manure I wasn’t that impressed – I don’t think it is the best way of getting soil up to fertility – but as an addition to normal manure it is growing on me. Great way to rest/condition the soil AND have pretty flowers as well!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

