Cheeky birds

The other day I noticed a few blueberries ready to be harvested. Then I thought I might as well wait a day or two to be absolutely certain they were ripe. Seems the birds were more certain than me, though, as when I went out this evening the blueberries were gone!

image

Blueberries eaten by the birds

At the going rate, it therefore looks like I have found an expensive way to feed the birds, considering the blueberry bush cost me Β£16. So, next year I will have to find a more secure way of keeping them off my fruit.

Interestingly, I have not had this trouble with the blackberries. The netting seems to have kept the birds off these without me having to be too fastidious. I’m therefore hoping it will be the same this year. Especially as this will probably be the last year for the blackberry bush in my garden. Although it is a good cropper, it is too big and not only are the roots extensive and in the way but they are producing new plants which are not in fact thornless (the motherplant is), which is not ideal. Still, I will enjoy the berries, as long as the birds don’t take a fancy to them πŸ™‚

image

Blackberry bush

Β© Helen Butt, July 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Cheeky birds

  1. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Lovely post thank you for sharing have a blessed evening

  2. I was worried about birds stealing my blueberries too. (I had 3 blueberries so far – one I ate and it was sweet and delicious. One I dropped in the sink. Whaaaaa! and the 3rd one is still on the bush.) The berries on my bush are somewhat hidden because it is a leafy plant and the leaves look bigger than yours. You might try to add more nitrogen which will increase leaf growth and may hide the berries. Other than that, I suggest you adopt a cat or encourage hawks which are birds of prey.

  3. andy1076 says:

    dang birds, they seem to have a handbook we humans don’t know about on when to harvest πŸ˜›

  4. lizard100 says:

    The birds and our fruit are a conundrum. They eat blackcurrants but not blackberries. They eat red currants but not raspberries, the blueberries are protected so I don’t know about them.

  5. The birds got all my blueberries too, they are fast workers!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

