Chinese cabbage

Three years ago, as a novice gardener, I put my cauliflower seedlings outside to harden off. No protection, just pots on the patio. Big mistake! When I got home from work, there wasn’t much left of them. At least I knew it must have been the birds, rather than some mysterious nibbler šŸ˜‰

Anyway, not wishing the same fate for my Chinese cabbage, I have put the seedlings outside under a net cloche. They are still very small and I read that they don’t transplant well. But needs must – the ground they are to go in isn’t ready yet…..

I’ve dug the compacted soil a little to loosen it and covered it in good old manure. Hopefully this and a dash of good luck will see some Chinese cabbage in the autumn.

image

Seedlings under cloche protection

Ā© Helen Butt, July 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chinese cabbage

  1. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Awesome thank you for sharing Helen have Blessed day

  2. That is a nice cloche.
    Honey

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

