Butterflies

This morning I noticed a butterfly on our blackberries (brambles). Having only seen cabbage whites in recent years I was pleased and intrigued to come across this pretty brown butterfly, so I called my daughter out to have a look, too.

Then when we were out this afternoon, by coincidence we saw another butterfly, exactly the same, on some brambles. My daughter immediately remarked that this variety of butterfly must be particularly partial to this plant. And indeed, the results of an internet search suggest she is right. It is probably a Gatekeeper/Hedge Brown butterfly (no image unfortunately), although these don’t normally come quite as far north, so the 25-30°C we are experiencing at the moment must be bringing them up.

As if this wasn’t exciting enough, we saw a third butterfly laying in the grass. This it would appear is a Peacock butterfly and it is beautiful, isn’t it?

image

Peacock butterfly

© Helen Butt, July 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Butterflies

  1. bmary says:

    What a delightful little butterfly! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Thank you for sharing. I agree with you that gardening brings you closer to nature.
    Honey

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

