Pumpkin progress

Over the last few days, while the weather has been particularly fine and there has been little to do in the garden, apart from watering, I’ve been doing a spot of decorating. That hasn’t stopped me taking a peek at what’s growing – and keeping my fingers crossed that all will go well….

image

The pumpkin - really growing?

Anyway, whether or not my fertilising attempts at the weekend were necessary, the pumpkin appears to be getting bigger. In fact, its weight has pulled it to the ground, so I’ve now put some straw under it, to protect it from damage from wet soil. Organic slug pellets have gone down as well as there are definite slug trails along the plant’s branches. I can’t imagine this would have been a comfortable journey for an intrepid slug, mind!

Not sure why the pumpkin is still green (I am sure the one last year was orange right from the start) but at least it is taking on a more spherical shape.

Now, I just hope the other pumpkin plant also starts to produce – for insurance sake, if nothing else.

© Helen Butt, July 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pumpkin progress

  1. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    LOVELY UPDATE THANK YOU FOR SHARING HAVE A BLESSED EVENING

  2. streepie says:

    Are you sure it is a pumpkin? To me, it looks like a gem squash. Let yourself be surprised!

    • Looks like it might be but I do want a pumpkin for my daughter (Halloween). Of course, trying something different would be an enjoyable experience for me, so let’s see!

  3. wow, your pumpking plant has grown since the last post. It looks great.
    Honey

  4. Catherine C says:

    Lovely….I am getting little yellow ones, but they are turning soft and rotting…and I have done the fertilising with the male stem!

  5. Catherine C says:

    That doesn’t seem to work either so I’ll try again……http://www.cathsirishveggiegarden.blogspot.ie

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

