Gift from the compost heap: new potatoes

I was pleased to wake up to rain this morning – and we even got a bit throughout the day . So, the soil looked nice and dark brown again!

Today has been a long one: having to take public transport as my car is out of service has meant increased journey times and lots more walking – the former definitely not so good, the latter excellent. The upshot though is that I was feeling frazzled when I walked through the door this evening. And what better antidote than to step into the garden and take advantage of the softer soil?

Actually, the only digging was to see if there were any potatoes under an unexpected guest plant (ie one that was growing from kitchen scraps). Unfortunately, that only produced three very small potatoes that didn’t look edible. On the other hand, when I tackled to plant growing out of the bin for finishing off compost I was pleased to see a lovely collection of new potatoes. I was surprised that some of them were quite big as well.

image

Potatoes and finished compost

I was also very pleased to see that the compost in this bin is now ready. So, I put a few spadefuls round the rhubarb, then the pumpkin and where I am going to plant the Chinese cabbage once the seedlings are big enough. (I have learned that with clay soil it is best to plant seedlings with a decent root ball rather than attempt to grow by sowing directly into the ground… which is perhaps why my cauliflowers failed to flourish last year.)

All in all, I am very pleased with the results of the ultimate in recycling. Coupled with using the bus today, I feel quite virtuous!

© Helen Butt, August 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Gift from the compost heap: new potatoes

  1. lizard100 says:

    Wow! That’s brilliant!

  2. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Awesome post Helen thank you for sharing have a blessed day

    • Thank you Linda. Hope you’ve had a good day – I feel better now I’ve finally got my car back. Half an hour home instead of one and a half hours. Sad indictment to the state of public transport in this country!

  3. Compost bins produce amazing results, don’t they. Enjoy.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

