Is this a cucumber?

When did the flowers first appear on the cucumber plants? I honestly can’t remember but it feels like weeks that I’ve been watching and watering and wondering what was happening. I realised that the difficulty could be the lack of insects in the house to fertilise them.

But now as I have been getting ready for bed, I saw this and can only suppose that it is a cucumber in the making!

image

Cucumber?

I do hope so. Even one cucumber would be so good – not least because organic cucumbers are hard to come by unless I go to a supermarket. And my daughter loves cucumber.

Β© Helen Butt, August 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Is this a cucumber?

  1. Catherine C says:

    I’d say you have a baby….lol

  2. Sheri Fox says:

    Yes! Baby cukes are so cute. Just needs a boy flower and a bee now…

  3. That’s great news! Really excited now πŸ™‚

  4. streepie says:

    This little prickly thing is indeed a baby cucumber – and it will grow in leaps and bounds over the next days!

  5. Awesome news Helen thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  6. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Awesome post Helen

  7. Sheri Fox says:

    Sorry, I hadn’t seen your whole post, just the pic. Indoors you need to hand-pollinate. A small paintbrush will do the job. Boys have the skinny stem, girls have baby cuke. Just give each a swirl (boy first, of course).

  8. Certainly looks like one to me πŸ™‚

  9. I think you have to have female only cucumber plants in order for them to produce any fruit.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

