The prize for pruning

image

Today's fruit and vegetables

Spring onions, okra, mangetout, blackberries and strawberries – only a handful but all mine! The vegetables were wonderful in a stirfry and the fruit worked well with yoghurt.

I know why my produce is coming in such small portions. Yes, it is partly the small garden, though I am working on that (ie how to get more out of a small space). It’s also because I was sidetracked by the allotment and missed most of April as I was in Japan. I do also need to add a lot more organic matter to the soil.

Still, for me it was a great treat after getting the secateurs out and going into the rain. The second round of roses had finished, some of the phacelia was starting to look very messy and the rocket had flowers, which definitely needed to be removed.

It is said that once rocket flowers, the leaves are spoiled. I’ve not found this – but it does self-seed… all over the garden. I dug up a little bush in the making the other day. My daughter insisted it was a dandelion but the leaves looked decidedly like miniature green rockets to me.

Perhaps I do need to let a few new plants form, as I have no idea how long a rocket bush lasts. I think mine are three years old, which is definitely money well-spent. I don’t ever run short of rocket-shaped leaves!

© Helen Butt, August 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Health, In the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The prize for pruning

  1. Those blackberries… look delicious. What is rocket and mangetout ? Do you eat it?
    I think concidering the alotment and Japanese trip.. that your garden has done quite well. You have done a lot of back breaking work to clear it out and organize your garden space. Plus you tranferred plant from the alotment and sowed and planted new crops. You should be proud of what you have accomplished. You should look at your older pictures of the garden and how it looks today. I think you will be pleasantly surprised.
    Honey

    • You do flatter me! I haven’t done much hard work in the garden this year, though I agree it has developed and is becoming more the environment I want it, too. (Am pleased to have seen so many bees for example over the last few months.)

    • Yes, you eat both rocket and mangetout. Rocket is a leaf vegetable in the same family as cabbage and you eat it in salad (ie raw). It has a spicy taste. Mangetout is a type of pea where you eat the pod as well. You can see one such pod in the photo above.

      I am sure you could grow rocket in Sweden – it grows here just south of Leeds (same latitude as Southern Denmark) almost all year round. Last winter I was picking it at Christmas, though it was mild anyway.

  2. mybrightlife says:

    Having a hand full is better than too much that just goes to waste!

    • That is true! I never have the problem of storage with my garden produce – out of the soil and straight onto the plate. Except for the garlic (at the moment), which sits happily in a tub under the radiator in the diningroom.

  3. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Awesome update your garden is coming along nicely Helen

    • Thank you, Linda! I definitely like the look of my garden, even if the amount of produce is a bit on the low side at times. The plan is to go more vertical next year, I think 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

