If these grow….

Recently, I wrote about the cost of growing your own versus the savings compared to buying the food. Overall, I worked out the savings from growing my own herbs at least in theory covered the cost of all the seeds, equipment and other paraphenalia you need to garden. However, it occurred to me this evening that if all eleven of the Chinese cabbage under the net tunnel grew they in themselves would almost cover the cost of the tunnel in the first place.

image

Net tunnel protecting Chinese cabbage

There are about another ten Chinese cabbage seedlings waiting to go out and I am going to try to sneak them under the net as well. The net cost £14 and one of these cabbages in the shops would set me back upwards of a pound. So, it’s a no-brainer, really….

I have a feeling one or two of the cabbages might not do too well, as they are overshadowed by a tomato plant. It was a bit of a tussle to get the net over all the cabbages because the vines have got so big, in fact. Still, it is good to see the net finally being used to protect some crops – I’ve had it for nearly 6 months and it didn’t prevent the weeds on the allotment from smothering all that tried to grow under it there (as if it would!). It was useful for keeping the birds off the phacelia seeds elsewhere in the garden, though. So, one way or another it is earning its keep 🙂

© Helen Butt, August 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to If these grow….

  1. lizard100 says:

    There’s many non cost benefits too though : )

  2. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    lovely post and thank you for sharing Helen

  3. Hi Helen,
    I have been discussing buying a net tunnel or making one for next year for our Cabbage, brocolli and Cauliflower. BabyVeg informed me that the netting should not touch the plants because the butterflies can lay their eggs on the leaves that touch the net, even through the netting. She also said anchoring it down is imprortant otherwise birds.. can get trapped inside. I thanked her for the tips because that saved me learning this the hard way.
    I agree with you that I save money growing our own vegetables. We saw yesterday that an ear of corn cost 10 kr a peice. The 39 ears of corn that we harvested thus far would have cost us 390kr at the store. We spent a 800kr in seed this year alone. Our corn crop alone paid for the majority of this years seed for the garden. The corn we saw at the store was not organic as our corn is organic. I am sure that Organic corn is more expensive. Great post
    Honey

    • Have you made netting then? I am planning to as I have some metal which has lost its net (got torn).

      That’s great news about your corn. And of course, when you add in the organic dimension that makes it even more ‘profitable’.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

