The August hunger gap

I thought it was just me with a dearth of home produce to consume at the moment. Well, that might be true as well. But on Friday at the local organic farm there was also a resounding lack of veg on sale. I know they reserve a lot of their produce for their CSA (Community Supported Agriculture scheme) but even so…

Perhaps it is something to do with the microcosm we live in as I haven’t notice this phenomenon on any of the blogs I follow. It does seem though that I might just have to rely on shop-bought food (horror of all horrors) to get our five-a-day for a while.

I had been hopeful of a little pumpkin soon. There had been a second one growing but presumably the vine couldn’t sustain it. In any case, the pumpkin has fallen off and looks like it is rotting, so in the compost bin it has gone.

image

Pumpkin which fell off the vine

On the other hand, on Friday I bought a new mint plant (spearmint, which is my favourite). I’m not about to start pulling the leaves off it just yet but at least I have a replacement for the one that was getting a bit too long in the tooth. And it reminds me that at least I have some on-going herbs to consume. Pity they don’t bulk out as well as add flavour and nutrients/medicinal properties to meals!

image

Spearmint

© Helen Butt, August 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Health, In the kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The August hunger gap

  1. What a shame that is such a nice size pumpkin! It has such a nice shape. What a disappointment because you had done such a good job with it thus far!
    I am sorry I know absolutely nothing about growing pumkins. Hopefully one of your followers does or you could ask someone at the farmers market who sell pumkins for advice.
    Don’t get discourage there is always next years crop!

  2. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Lovely post and thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  3. Hi, I think your little pumpkin only fell off because it hadn’t been fertilised. This happens to me a lot if I don’t actually fertilise them myself. Oh well at least you do have some pumpkins to enjoy 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

