Summer’s back!

It was supposed to be another day of rain and low (for the time of year) temperatures. But it’s not and finally the gladioli are flowering.

image

Gladioli

The rhubarb must have liked the inclement weather as well, as it seems to be going for yet another lap.

image

Rhubarb taking off again

Now, I’m waiting for the female flowers on the cucumbers to open so I can do a bit of pollinating. I hope this happens before I need to go out……

© Helen Butt, August 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Summer’s back!

  1. What beautiful gladiolas! My rhubarb is still producing stalks. We had 9C last night. yesterdays high was 13C. My cucumbers are still putting forth flowers and cucumbers. I am not surprised after the liquid sunshine (rain) that it kick started your garden. Fall is here. If we continue to have these temperatures I will have to cover the Cucumbers at night or just let them die out.
    What kind of cucumbers are you growing? I do not have to hand pollinate them the bees come in droves to do that for me. We usually have to watch out for the bees when we are harvesting the cucumbers.
    Honey

    • My cucumbers are Burpless F1. They are all in the house as I started too late for any outside. I’ve read that you will end up with bitter fruit if you pollinate those growing inside but the first one I saw (and didn’t pollinate) doesn’t seem to be growing, so I think I do need to do it in any case.

      It would be good if you could get more cucumbers from your vines, as well as more rhubarb!

      • They are the long cucumbers and heirloom variety as well. We would have to grow them in the Polytunnel. I would have to pollinate them by hand. I am a lazy gardener. The easier it is the better I like it. I tried pollinating cantelope in my mini green house one year. I didn’t do it right because we didn’t get any fruit plus that year we had a cold rainy summer. That is why I have been reading on line about hand pollination. I would like to try again maybe next year. Good luck.

        I have canned 50 jars of pickles already this year. We figure I have one or two batches to go. The next batches will be salt pickles. Last year I experimented with one batch. Hubbie has gone crazy over them. I wanted to make more for him.
        I am going to try and make Rhubarb ginger jam. I got the recipe from a lady who said I can use last years frozen rhubarb to make it. The rhubarb from this year I make pies with it.
        Honey.

        • I’ve made rhubarb jam this year!

          Not made any pickles but who knows… The cucumbers might yet come to something – it does say in the packet they crop until October.

          It’s definitely better if you don’t have to pollinate by hand – bees don’t seem to come into the house, though.

          • Why haven’t you posted the recipe and pictures of how you did it? I have made two sorts of jams so far. I am a new bee on this.
            Wow those cucumber will produce untill October that is not bad.
            Honey

          • I think the cucumbers produce until October because they have been drveloped for the climate here – but we shouldn’t have a frost until the end of October in any case.

            I think I did reblog the post with the rhubarb jam – maybe a month ago?

          • Or maybe I just emailed it to myself. I couldn’t take credit for the recipe anyway, so it’s not mine to blog about lol.

  2. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    I am still waiting for mined to flower have a blessed day and lovely post

  3. lizard100 says:

    I hope we get a respite in Holland too. The cold turned up too soon for my garden too.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

