Just what I need after a hard day’s work!

After a five-day weekend, I knew what was coming at work today… Suffice to say I was glad to get into the garden and pick blackberries with my daughter afterwards!

As if this wasn’t pleasure enough, upon inspecting the smaller pumpkin plant I noticed a female flower had opened up. I’ve been waiting for a while for this to happen, and would very nearly have missed the opportunity to fertilise this pumpkin as the males are all starting to shrivel up. However, I prized one open and transfered the pollen. Now, it’s a case of waiting to see if that worked.

Then I remembered to check the runner beans. They were right overhead but I hadn’t even seen a few reasonably long pods. Brilliant! So, I am going to get something of a crop after all!!

image

Runner beans forming at last!

© Helen Butt, August 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Just what I need after a hard day’s work!

  1. “… as the males are all starting to shrivel up”? Did you put this here to get a rise out of your readers?
    Sorry, I’m feeling very mischievous. My two pumpkin vines bore baby pumpkins, but then they turned yellow and fell off the vine.

  2. Your garden is looking really nice. What a huge transformation from earlier this summer. You can really see all the work you have been putting in to it paying off. You have a really nice permiculture garden going now. I am impressed that you have been successful with hand pollination of your pumpkins. My first attempts at hand pollination failed. I am not surprised that your runner beans are taking off because you had such good success with you broad beans before. Congradulations on a job well done. It is hard to believe that you had a late start on your garden and that you were able to come so far this growing season.
    Honey

    • Well, thank you, Honey!

      By the way, you seem familiar with permaculture – is this sonething you practise at all or would if you could? I’m looking forward to finding out more…

      • I watch a variety of Gardening shows. A few of them have permaculture gardens. They mix vegetables,fruit, flower and herbs in their garden or they have a vegetable garden mixed in natures garden. They say flowers attract helpful insects and ward off pest. I have seen this done in small gardens like your in England on one show. This particular woman plants fewer plant of each variety but seems to get large harvests from each one. She has more than enough to eat can dehydrate and freeze. They claim that this is better for the soil. She also had a moveable chicken coop. She had a compost heap as well. She didn’t need to buy fertilizer or dirt. I cannot remember the name of the show. It has been quite some time since I seen it on tv.

        The style of your garden reminds me of her garden. I thought that was what you were going for. I perferr the traditional gardening style. I know my husband does as well. We work together on how are garden is set up. This year I wanted to try the French style. He was all for it until we went to plant. He did try it only on our potatoes, strawberries this year. He felt more comfortable with what he knows.
        Honey

        • I hadn’t planned on a permaculture garden – the garden just became what it is by me doing what seemed right. Then I borrowed a book about permaculture and it resonated with me (ie it fitted in with my ideals). I also realised in some ways that I was already doing it – but I would still like to learn more. (The cottage garden also mixes different types of plant.)

          Anyway, each to their own!

          • I think there is a harmony in your garden now. It looks beautiful. I have never seen a permaculture garden in person. I would like to see on and speak to the gardener. I am sure there are manor houses here with them. I just need to seek them out. It will be fun to watch your grow and develope. Maybe you could explain about permaculture and how you are appling it to your garden. I think it would be interesting and not just to me.
            Honey

          • Thank you for the compliment… I do take a lot of pleasure in looking at the garden.

            In truth, I scarcely know anything about permaculture but I will pass the knowledge on as I learn. It would great if the garden was fuller all year but that takes time even with knowledge.

  3. Helen your garden is looking amazing and thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  4. Still lots of green there- and beans to boot. Lucky you! How many more months in your growing season now?

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

