Half full!

And no plastic…..

We’re talking about the compost bin here, rather than my glass of beer. Whilst turning the compost heap earlier this evening, I was joined by a friend who was almost as enthusiastic about the amount of new compost I had made as I was.

image

Finishing off bin getting full

I can’t believe that the finishing off bin is half full. Of course, by next spring it won’t be that much but I am not just pleased in the general sense of achieving something from my hard work, I am thrilled that this £5 worth (at a guess) of compost does not come in yet another plastic bag.

Tomorrow is the start of Zero Waste Week 2014 and I have pledged to cut down, if not eliminate, the amount of food I buy which is packaged in plastic. This is just about the only waste I now produce which goes into landfill and, while it is not a great amount, I could do better.

Cutting down on plastic consumption in all areas of my life is my long term goal. So, by making my own compost, even if it is only the equivalent of one 50 litre bag (at least for now) per year, I am moving closer to this goal. Wish me luck!

© Helen Butt, August 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Half full!

  1. Benjamin says:

    I’m always amazed at the volume that goes into the compost bin versus the amount that comes out. We’ve got a couple and they are insatiable! 😉

  2. Awesome Helen I am sure you will get to your goal of zero waste plastic and well done on your compost I must turn mind again soon

    • It’s a hard job isn’t? I think I will need a new compost bin soon as the one I’ve got at the moment is breaking up. It also has a tendency to fall over!

      Anyway, thank you for your encouragement re reducing plastic waste.

      • your more than welcome thought about putting a brick in the bottom when you empty it next to help it stop falling over ?

        • The compost bin doesn’t have a bottom – it is basically a material cylinder which pegs to the ground. Last time I turned the heap I couldn’t find one of the pegs and ended up ripping the material along the seam at the bottom, so I didn’t want to put them in again. I think it will be alright when I move it again onto more even ground, though.

          Thanks very much for your suggestion, anyway, Linda. It is always great to have informed and positive feedback.

  3. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  4. Great goal to cut back on buying plastic! I just went grocery shopping this morning. I went to buy ecological bananas. I was shocked that they were pre packaged in plastic and sealed. I thought it was quite ironic that the ecological company would wrap their bananas in a heavy plastic. All I could think is it seems counter productive. I am glad that my local grocery stores are trying to think of the enviroment by selling locally grown produce and ecologically grown produce. It is a start. The consumers are what creates change. Thanks for the challenge You inspired me to try to reduce the plastic that I buy.
    Honey

    • Great that you have been inspired to reduce the amount of plastic packaging in your bin! I’m just about to write a post on my experiences today, so will leave further comments till that!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

