We only came up here for the view!

image

Snails at the top of the bean poles

I’ve seen snails climbing up the apple tree before, so shouldn’t be surprised by today’s little sighting.  I actually think they look quite cute snuggled amongst the leaves. Haven’t seen any damage – so they are attracted by something else? Safe place to sleep? Confused about their identity maybe? Who knows!

© Helen Butt, September 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to We only came up here for the view!

  1. Well the snails look healthy. I found a few in our flower beds for the first time this year. I was so happy to see them. I couldn’t even remember the last time that I had even seen them, any where in Sweden in our travels. I had thought they were almost wiped out by the killer snails. I have been worried about invasion of killer snails as we call them in Sweden. I have no idea what function these snails have in nature. I do not know what they eat. Nice photo!
    Honey

    • Thank you for the compliment about my photo. I don’t know anything about killer snails – not sure if they have reached my island!

      • Then you are lucky. They kill and eat other snails. They are verocious eaters. They can dessimate a vegetable patch in a day or two. They are black and with no shells. They are wreaking havoc over here. We have been spared thus far but some of my neighbors have lost their whole summer vegetable patches.
        Honey

        • If they have no shells, perhaps they are a type of slug? That said, slugs and snails co-exist in my garden, so the slugs are clearly not the killer kind. Still, between them and the birds they would destroy most crops, though funnily enough they don’t seem interested in my fennel.

          • I don’t know if they are slugs. I don’t know the English translation. I think they are also called Spanish wood snails. They eat eachother as well and dead or living plants.

            I hope they don’t get imported in with produce… They have been a major problem here for years. I know our local muicipal government gave lecture to the locals here how to combat them.

            What do you use the fennel for as a spice of food?

          • I had a quick look on the internet for these creatures – couldn’t find any reliable sources but I think they would be called a slug in English. There may have been some ‘imported’ but we definitely haven’t had any kind of epidemic. How awful if they are cannibals as well – ugh!

            I am trying to grow the fennel for the bulb but I use the leaves in salads and dry them for tea. A friend I give the leaves to uses it with fish.

  2. What’s this about killer snails? Now we’re scared….!!!

    • I don’t think you have anything to worry about – not at the moment anyway!! A little while ago, my daughter spied to large and revolting looking slugs on the front lawn but good luck to them. Doubt they’ll get much of a feed there 😉

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

