A different kind of harvest

Things are chugging along nicely in the garden (and on the windowsills). I spy something that looks like it could soon be an aubergine, there are more cucumbers on the way, I’ve got runner beans coming out my ears and the pumpkin grows oranger by the day. Sadly, I can’t say the same for the tomatoes but at least the buckwheat has now all been cut down so I can plant some spring bulbs in its place and I’ve potted on some cauliflower.

However, the best news for today is that I got a huge bag of green peppers from my parents when I visited at the weekend. And a bag of crab apples, which have been boiled and are now being strained to make jelly. I had some crab apple jelly a couple of years ago, which inspired me to put a tree for them in the garden – but as yet I don’t know where it would go. Still, by tomorrow there will hopefully be a jar or two of jelly to add to the list of preserves to keep us going over the winter. Not bad at all!
image

© Helen Butt, September 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A different kind of harvest

  1. Your harvest sounds not bad at all! It sounds good to me! I hope you post your Apple jelly recipe.
    Honey

    • It’s not my recipe but basically it’s 4 parts caster sugar to 1 part crab apples + some lemon juice. I’ve boiled the apples and need to strain them for the next 24 hours before boiling the juice with the sugar and lemon juice. I think it’s going to a bit tart as the apples weren’t ripe….

      • That sounds easy. Do you freeze this or put it in jars and the heat seal them?

        Did you get my pumpkin pie recipe?
        Honey

        • Yes, thanks for the pumpkin pie recipe!

          The jelly is put in jars. To be honest, I have never heat sealed my preserves but I guess I ought to…

          • I am glad to hear you got the pie recipe. If it works with out boiling them in a warm water bath, that is great.
            thanks for recipe
            Honey

          • Do you have crab apples in Sweden then? Possibly a silly question but interesting to know how far they go.

            Anyway, you’re welcome. Let me know if you make any jelly.

          • Yes, we have crab apples here. We have a quite a few trees on the farm. I usually have to fight with the horses when I pick them. They try and steal them out of my basket. I have a long stick with rough ring and bag on it. I use it to pick fruit. If an apple falls to the ground, I have learned to accept that is the horses. Julia the brown pony will bump me, when I am picking so apples will fall to the ground. She is hilarious. I swear she whinneys like she is laughing, when she makes me drop apples. I have always been afraid of horses. I am no longer afraid thanks to these ponies. They have me laughing the whole time I pick apples and pears. I have really grown fond of them.

            I want to make jelly but we will see how many apples are left on the trees right now.
            Honey

          • You paint a lovely picture! Happy crab apple picking 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  3. Karen says:

    I let a friend of my pick as many crabapples as she wants so she can make jelly. She always returns the favor by sending over some jelly so I know how good yours will be.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

