Third round phacelia

As this is only the first time I have had flowers in my garden at this time of year, I assumed that they didn’t appear at the end of September (in a Northern country in the Northern hemisphere). However, clearly they do, as the third batch of phacelia I sowed, back in July, has started to flower.

image

Phacelia and pumpkin

There are also gladioli and cosmos which are still flowering – and I think I have managed to successfully fertilise another pumpkin. This I am watching every day to see if it grows or falls off, since the last attempts to get a second fruit didn’t work. Basically, the fruit before appeared to grow but even at the size of the one pictured above they fell off. So, as with so much that goes on in the garden, fingers crossed. It is going to be hard not to dig into the pumpkin I already have ripening on the patio before Halloween, so another would be a brilliant bonus.

© Helen Butt, September 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, In the kitchen, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Third round phacelia

  1. I made salsa with my tomatoes as you suggested. It was good. It was spicy! The problem with making salsa (which I love) is that you have to have chips to go with it. I bought the cheapest bag of chips and surprisingly, they were some of the best chips I ever ate. They were on sale. They were…..an official sponsor of the NFL. UGH! I didn’t notice it until I had opened the bag. I guess they reduced their price of these chips because of all the bad publicity lately. I put some tomatoes in a chicken soup I made. I put some tomatoes in a previously made pasta sauce. When I was a kid, I used to stuff a tomato with cheese tid bits. Have you ever heard of them? I would make a small hole in the tomato and stuff the tid bits in until the tomato couldn’t hold anymore. Then the tomato juices would soften the tid bits and I would eat it like an apple I think, can’t remember anymore. It’s kind of like putting cheddar cheese on top of tomato soup. (The tid bits are made with cheddar cheese.) Anyway, a walk down memory lane. : – )

  2. Jane says:

    got myself a proper greenhouse.. 50 quid second hand, 6ft by 6.. very excited.. Mark has put frame up while he vaguely remembered how, but we have to make concrete more straight and then put windows in ;).. still got to get rest of garden sorted, although drainage has worked will be put to test shortly I guess 🙂 must meet up xx

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

