More vegetable flowers

Back in March I received a bag of Jerusalem artichoke tubers, which were duly planted. I had read that this vegetable is a relative of the sunflower and  likewise produces big yellow flowers. So, I have watched and waited and the stems have grown and grown but no flowers appeared. Then something which looked like buds finally arrived in early September and this morning this is what greeted me on my garden stroll.

image

Jerusalem artichokes in flower

I mentioned in my last post that it is surprising to see flowers being produced so last in the season – and in this case I wonder if it is normal for artichokes to flower now rather than in summer. Whatever the case may be, it is great that there is still fodder for both bees and other insects. Perhaps the artichokes also produce seeds as well – then the birds too can have a pre-winter feed!

Another flower I am pleased to see this week is on the cayenne peppers, grown from seeds I saved a year ago. Again, the plants have been growing for several months and I wondered if they were perhaps infertile. However, there is now the beginnings of what looks to be a fruit emerging. How long until it is long and red?

image

Cayenne pepper

© Helen Butt, September 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More vegetable flowers

  1. Hurray for you, and the bees, too. I love late-season bloomers, and surprises too.

  2. sueturner31 says:

    Take care these are quite invasive… 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

