Last Sunday in September

The swimming baths were a bit chilly this morning, so I was pleasantly surprised when we came out into the afternoon sunshine and 20°C. Everything seems to going well in the garden and it looks like I’m going to need to do some watering this evening.

Inside the house, we are onto eating cucumber no. 3, with two more on the way. There are three aubergines as well. Then, in view of the fact that the tomatoes seem resistant to ripening on the vine, I have taken to moving a tub of them in and out of the house to speed things up a bit. I did eat one a couple of weeks ago and there could be a few more very soon I hope.

image

Ripening tomatoes

In some ways, though, I’m getting fed up of summery weather. I just want the final crops to finish so that I can get on with sorting the garden out for next year.  At least the ryegrass (green manure) from very old seeds is starting to grow. That means it is worth my while sowing the rest of that packet. Better get some more spring bulbs planted before I do that then!

© Helen Butt, September 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Last Sunday in September

  1. Benjamin says:

    Waiting for a homegrown tomato to ripen may be one of the most brutal exercises in patience one has to experience 😉

  2. I just put the green tomatoes on my sunny window sill to ripen.Last year it was the only way that I could get any tomatoes to ripen was on the window sills.Those are some nice looking tomatoes.
    I am surprised that you still have such nice weather. We have had class 1 storm warnings. The wind has been causing damage all over the country the last couple of days, Knocking trees down and thousands are without electricity. Today it is partly sunny 16C outside but the winds gust can knock my flower pots and candle lanterns over all over the yard. Thank goodness that we have already took in our lawn furniture in for the year. Fall is here in our neck of the woods. The winds sound like a freight train, when it blows through the trees. Winter is just around the corner.
    Honey

  3. lizard100 says:

    The weather is a bit strange just now.

  4. Elle says:

    Last year we had a great harvest of tomatoes, our first time ever to plant them. This year zilch, zero, nada. 😦 Okay, hands up, I didn’t look after the plant this year, so I am entirely to blame. The kids really enjoyed picking them and eating them fresh last year. And I liked knowing they weren’t radioactive tomatoes, lol!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

