Space

Over the last few days, I’ve been contemplating what to do about the space once occupied by the garden path. In truth, it is never far from my mind but on Friday evening I decided I am going to get a crab apple tree, which begged the question of where I was going to put it.

image

The former garden path

No, I am not going to attempt to dig up the ground where the path used to be. That is compacted beyond words and will stay that way for the foreseeable future. However, it will be a useful space for the mini greenhouse I hope to get before next spring. And behind that I intend to place the rubbish bins, which are one of the less aesthetically pleasing objects in the garden.

That will free up some of the ground which is currently suitable for growing things in. But I do need to crack on with getting the rest of the hawthorn bush out.

image

The hawthorn bush

I still feel a tinge of guilt, knowing the environmental cost of its going. At the same time, I hope that the garden that replaces it will be environmentally at least as useful, with the added benefits of giving me something to eat as well as providing a prettier landscape.

So, I have made a start on extracting the hawthorn from its place of residence by the back fence. Doing the same to the first half earlier in the year showed me better how to do it the second time round (ie dig round the roots like an archaelogist digs round finds, as instead of a tap root it has ones which fan out). On the other hand, this one has a much bigger mass of roots to excavate, so a lot of patience as well as tugging is required!

Other news is that I have taken out the remaining rocket bush (there were two) to make way for the compost bin, which needed turning again. I wasn’t able to move any compost to the finishing off bin today but just turning it reduced it by about a third. Ah, more space for all the upcoming goodies such as runner bean haulms…. and in the space left by moving the bin I have now planted out some kale seedlings. Please slugs, stay away…

© Helen Butt, September 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Space

  1. Good luck digging up the rest of the hawthorne bush out. It sounds like a lot of hard work.
    Honey

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

