Bones

The academic in me feels that I should reference the information I read about and then pass on through my blog. However, I have no reference details, so suffice to say I read recently that in addition to eating the chicken and making stock from the skin and bones, the bones can be ground for gardener’s bonemeal.

My daughter had asked for chicken as a payday treat earlier in the week, so I’ve now got a few bones, which I’ve cooked in the microwave to make brittle and am now in the process of crushing. This is not quick job, especially with a pestle and mortar, and chickens seem to have surprisingly few bones. But overall it seems a no-brainer not to do it.

image

Bonemeal in the making

On the subject of bones, whilst having my daily go at the hawthorn bush (to get it out the ground), it struck me how close the plant world is to the animal world. The stems and roots of plants and trees are like bones, I thought, as I pulled out a root, followed by cutting down some phacelia and runner beans. This led me to feel I could understand why some people become fructarians…. I hope the secateurs weren’t too painful!

image

Hawthorn bush - another stem out

© Helen Butt, October 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, In the kitchen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bones

  1. That sounds like a good idea to make your own bone meal but I never thought about home much bone it takes to make a package either. I guess you could try a food processor to grind it up but you could risk breaking the machine. Let me know how it turned out. That is just too labor intensive for me. I will buy it for now.
    Good luck with that pesky hawthorne bush! You need to celebrate when it is gone. It will be a milestone in your garden.
    Honey

    • Helen says:

      It certainly will be a mikestone, Honey. Thanks for your encouragement.

      As for the bonemeal, the few bones won’t make much of it but it is seems better to use them rather than throw them away. So, it’s an interesting experiment!

  2. Cynthia says:

    I was trying to think of a way to incorporate bones in to the garden as well. I don’t have a microwave so I boil them down and then put them in the fireplace. All the ashes go into the garden anyway. Idk, seems odd but couldn’t think of another way.

    • Helen says:

      Actually, when I was looking into how I could make the bonemeal, most of the suggestions were to do as you do, so it’s not that unusual at all. I just don’t happen to have a fire in my house. Anyway, great to hear that you’ve been using the bones, too, Cynthia 🙂

  3. It might be quicker if you use a hammer and an empty cereal box plastic liner. I save the cereal box liners for crushing nuts, or anything that is going to make a mess. The plastic bag is very sturdy! I save them when I finish a box of cereal, wash them out, fold them up and store on the door of my freezer.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

