I love Mondays (the hawthorn bush has gone)!

On Mondays, I get seven hours to myself and after all the gallavanting about I did this weekend I really needed some space. However, the trouble with hours of unfettered freedom is that it tends to get frittered away without what feels like much to show for it.

Working backwards, in a sense, after tea I decided to take advantage of the last of the light to do a bit of digging round the roots of the hawthorn bush. Nice to be out when my neighbour came along to bring her bin in (she needs to use the path at the back of my garden to do so).  A bit of moral support never goes amiss. But even nicer when the momentum gets to an end result more quickly than you could ever have imagined!

Honestly, as I walked up the garden path with my spade, bypass loppers and gloves, I envisaged many such sortees at dusk before I could shout hurray. Now, a bit bedraggled and hand-sore, I think it’s time for a little toast. The hawthorn bush has gone (well, it is ready to be handed over to a friend for her log burner) and there is now but an empty space.

image

Where the hawthorn used to be!

It has taken me five years to eradicate what was in my back garden (which was everything except the bluebells) when I bought the house. There is still the matter of my back fence but it’s more a matter of convenience that it needs to go. So, exciting times ahead as I launch into developing the garden into more of what I want it to be.

First, I need to sterilise some jars for the chutney I’ve been making today. And make some spiced blackcurrant cordial now the real autumn is setting in πŸ™‚

image

Green tomato chutney

Β© Helen Butt, October 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I love Mondays (the hawthorn bush has gone)!

  1. andy1076 says:

    Dang you cleaned it good lol

  2. Wow you have been busy today! It just goes to show you what a determined woman can get done. You still had a large piece of the roots left. Now you have a large space to do with as you please. Congratulations the bush is gone and finally behind you.
    The tomato chutney looks good. It’s time for a hot bubble bath some candles and relaxing music for your sore muscles. Enjoy the evening.
    Honey

  3. You did very well to dig up the Hawthorn, were the roots massive? Over here people are very scared to touch or move a ‘Whitethorn’ for fear of repercussions from the faeries πŸ™‚

  4. There is such a great feeling of satisfaction when you eradicate a pesky plant. Every time I pull up or out of my driveway, I admire the lack of an invasive mulberry bush and some other vine that was strangling my lilac bush. It cost $75.00 to have it and the roots removed, but it was worth it. I was tired of cutting and digging to try to get rid of it myself with no luck. I toast your success!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

