There’s never enough cardboard

Today, I finally had some space to sort out the front garden.

image

Front garden before work today

Earlier in the year, I had started to remove the pebbles from the top of the soil under the window. It was then I realised that the soil would be unlikely to grow anything of substance. It was pebble-ridden clay at its worst.

However, with the back garden being a bigger priority, it is only now that I have taken up the rest of the pebbles. And instead of plastic, I have decided to kill off the annual weeds/mulch overwinter with cardboard.

image

Winter look for front garden

From a couple of visits to the waste cardboard collection at work, I had accumulated what I thought was a nice big pile of the stuff to do both the front and back gardens. Little did I realise that I would actually ran out, once I turned my attention to the vegetable patch and covered up one of the most unloved parts of it.

image

Back garden middle of October 2014

So far I have never planted anything there – it was lawn before and has still been used as a thoroughfare to the back gate. This is set to change now that the hawthorn bush is out, though. But for the moment I am quite worn out after all that fresh air (17°C and sunny) this afternoon.

© Helen Butt, October 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to There’s never enough cardboard

  1. Big job 🙂 I have heard of people using old wool carpet to kill off weeds and also use under mulch. Good luck

    • Helen says:

      Yes, I killed my lawn with a wool carpet! In some parts of the garden I’m onto the second cardboard box because I’ve had to tread on the original. But that shouldn’t happen in the front garden, so it will be interesting to see what happens there.

  2. Have you tried local shops for your cardboard? They have to pay to have it removed and would probably love it if you took it from them.

    • Helen says:

      I have heard anecdotally that shops won’t give it away here due to health and safety, so I’ve always been reluctant to ask!

      • drofmit4108 says:

        The Co-op on Cardigan Lane always had a supply of cardboard boxes…
        and Morrisons in the City Centre and at Kirkstall have a stockage point for empty boxes for people to carry their goods home in…
        supermarkets are always willing to get rid of cardboard.
        The other thing to do is put out a “wanted” add for cardboard on Freegle or Freecycle…
        you’ll probably end up buried under the stuff!!
        We once made the mistake of using some dead Axminster 100%wool carpet on the allotment…
        either the warp or the weft contained a small percentage of man-made fibre…
        it took us years to get rid of the ghastly spaghetti from that area!!!
        We now use UV and rot-proof woven ground-cover fabric for long term [same as the nurseries] and heavy duty black polyethelene for short term work…
        yes, an initial outlay… but when you have our area, it is worth it.
        Keep on digging…

      • Oh, isn’t that a shame! Health and safety gone bonkers.

        • Helen says:

          If it’s true, it is ridiculous. Over all, the point of my post was to show just how cardboard is needed, so when I find an opportunity to get more, I will 🙂

  3. The garden is looking great as usual. I still can’t believe that you have 17 C weather. We have had our first snow Thursday. When hubby woke me up to tell me, I did not believe him. I thought he was pulling my leg. We have had a high 5C and lows of -4.
    Honey

    • Helen says:

      I guess you are used to snow but I’m glad we haven’t had any… Anyway, thank you for the compliment about my garden. It is looking barer now but I was pleased to see a bumble bee on the remaining phacelia a while ago.

      • Normally the first snow makes you feel all excited and in awe of it’s beauty. It always brings the kid out in me and it feels magical… I was just surprised because it’s come so early…
        Enjoy the warm weather while it last!
        Honey

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

