The Scrap Store

Now that the seasons are changing, nights drawing in and the garden on a pretty rapid slow-down (not sure how much the second pumpkin has or hasn’t grown in the last week), I am turning my attention to other ways of both occupying myself and saving money/the planet(?).

Back in 2012, I reduced my hours at work from full time to sixty percent, which has forced me to confront the issue of waste in a personal and dynamic way. I used to do my best, already being aware that recycling, for example, was better than landfill. There had also been times in my life when I didn’t have a car and I was already eating organic food, in fact attempting to grow it. Notwithstanding, I feel that over the last two and a half years my awareness has grown exponentially and with it there has been a noticeable shift in lifestyle.

One such shift has been a increased use of the train. I’ve got a Family and Friends railcard, which means a third off my ticket and half off my daughter’s (plus we can take advantage of the same for guests). Thus, to go into the city centre from our village is £3 instead of £4.50. In comparison, driving is upwards of the higher figure, depending on how busy the traffic is. It was therefore a no-brainer to pop on the train to Farsley (the other side of Leeds), to visit a scrap shop with our sewing bee.

Scrap shops are a new concept for me, so taking it you’re the same, here is a brief explanation. As I am sure you’re aware, most people don’t use everything they buy. This includes businesses and organisations. Alternatively, they might be refurbishing, for instance, and rather than dump what they remove they pass it on. The scrap shop in Farsley is one such place that receives sometimes new, sometimes used, cast-offs from businesses and organisations in the region. It can then sell them on to creative (or would-be creative) souls – at knockdown prices.

The upshot of this is that I got all of this for just £6.30…

image

Wadding, table runner, PVA glue, crepe paper, sticky labels

Not sure what I would have paid elsewhere but at a guess it would have been at least £20 – and this stuff is now not in landfill. Instead, it is going to grace the walls of my house as Halloween decorations. Anyone got a good template for bats?

© Helen Butt, October 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Good for the environment, Social and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Scrap Store

  1. We have many different kind of recycling centers here. The greatly vary from area to area….
    I hope you and your daughter enjoy you Halloween decorating. There are so many cool ideas to make you own decorations on the web. I hope that you post how it all turns out.
    Honey

    • Helen says:

      What are your recycling centres like?

      Recycling has become more mainstream here, although I don’t know how far people go to places like the scrap shop. I only heard about it through my sewing group, so I guess these things spread by word of mouth.

      Anyway, thank you for your supportive comment. I will look on the web for a bat template, I think!

      • Some look like a junk yard. They have building supplies ( windows, kitchen cabinets, ceramic roof tiles), mixture of odds and ends stuff, household appliances, department store shelves and more equipment. Military surplus shops from clothing, canteens, bedding… Some are like Second hand shops that can be small shops to industrial sized buildings. It depends what is in your area and how populated your area is as well. If you have companies you get different supplies… Some are open only two days a week and others 6 days a week. You never know what you can find.. from month to month…they are very popular here.
        Honey

  2. KathrynH says:

    I feel very lucky to have the Wiltshire ScrapStore only a few miles away. It’s a real Aladdin’s Cave to anyone remotely crafty (or someone who just likes a good rummage). I always come away with far too much and now they serve coffee and cake it’s even more tempting…. Glad you’ve discovered a scrapstore close to you.

  3. What a cool idea. Thanks for sharing your haul.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

