Green tomato jam

Having taken just about all my tomatoes in now, I’m left with pounds and pounds of green beauties. Some are turning red, which my daughter and I are enjoying with great relish. At the same time, I didn’t want to risk losing half of them before they got that far, so why not see if there was something apart from chutney which I fancied making?

The upshot of an internet search was this recipe from all recipes.co.uk:

image

Green tomato jam

Peel and quarter a kilo of green tomatoes and put them in a pan with 750g of jam sugar and the juice of two lemons (I cheated and put about four tablespoons of juice from a bottle in). Leave the mixture for 12 hours and then cook it on a low heat till setting point, which takes up to 30 minutes (but apparently could take as little as six!).

It took me 30 minutes and I think the tomato pieces were too big. But the taste is frankly great. I don’t actually like green tomatoes but this is a different taste altogether. And I would definitely recommend it if jam is your thing.

Β© Helen Butt, October 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in In the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Green tomato jam

  1. Cynthia says:

    This is so different. I’m thinking it might be good on a crostini with something crunchy and salty on top….I feel an experiment coming on.

  2. drofmit4108 says:

    Try adding some broken walnuts to a batch…
    both types are commercially available here in the Touraine…
    yours and the added walnut version!!
    Lovely on a naked baguette [ie: no butter!]
    And DON’T worry about the size of the chunx…
    they become slightly chewy with keeping, rather like plum jam…
    and add to the flavour.
    Oh… and jam sugar comes in 5 Kilo sacks from the supermarkets…
    they are serious about their conserves the French!!
    And when you see the person in front of you put three sacks in their trolley…
    hmmmmmmmmmm??!

    • Helen says:

      I love walnuts! Interesting to know it is available commercially in Touraine – is it a local speciality then?

      • drofmit4108 says:

        I’m not really sure…
        I think it is actually a traditional French way of using the last tomatoes…
        there are a couple of local artisinal conserve makers who make a version…
        but I’ve seen it a French jam book…
        where every jam [marmalade included] seem to require a vanilla pod…
        so it may well be the French equivalent of Green Tomato Chutney…
        the French don’t seem to do chutneys the way Brits do.

        • Helen says:

          No, I must say I’ve never seen any chutney in France. Then again le sandwich is seen as a culinary fail, is it not, so I’m not surprised there’s not much mileage in chutney πŸ˜‰

  3. Benjamin says:

    That looks delicious! We like to slice green tomatoes, dredge them in a mixture of flour and corn meal with a little sugar, salt and pepper. Fry ‘em up quick and eat ‘em while they’re hot! πŸ˜‰ Cheers, Ben

  4. Thank you for the post on your recipe.
    Honey

    • Helen says:

      Do you have any green tomatoes left so you can try it?

      • Unfortunately no I do not have an more tomatoes left. Hubby has pulled up the garden. We are about to take down the poly tunnel for the season. We are hoping to transplant strawberries and plant garlic for next year and the garden will be shut down for this year. There is always next year. I need to write the recipe down and save it.
        Honey

  5. This looks so delicious! We do not get green tomatoes in my country.. I do not think I ever tasted them… do they taste very different to red ones?

    • Helen says:

      Green tomatoes are unripened tomatoes, so I’ve only got them because mine didn’t turn red (though in the warmth of my house they now are, which is great for autumnal salads πŸ™‚

      Anyway, in answer to your question re taste, when they are green they are much less sweet and juicy. When I lived in Greece, at a local farmer’s market they used to sell them half ripened, so I got used to the green taste a bit. I’ve also seen half ripened tomatoes served in salad in Spain but at that time I couldn’t bare the thought πŸ˜‰

      • drofmit4108 says:

        For green tomatoes try Evergreen, a beefsteak type…
        and Green Zebra, a medium size stripey salad tomato….
        both wonderful, full of flavour just a bit more savoury.
        For a selection of the colours look at this picture of one of our harvests…

        the set itself has pictures from the Burley Model Allotments Association annual show…
        with a whole range of the wonderful, tasty veg and fruit that can be grown.

      • drofmit4108 says:

        That’s exactly how we got to seventy plants covering twenty varieties….
        we’ve just got to cut back… somehow….
        and Pauline’s just ordered another variety….
        erk!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

