Home-grown curry: aubergine

At last, I have fulfilled one of my minor ambitions. I’ve never seen organic aubergines, so I was particularly keen to grow my own. I also happen to like aubergine curry a lot.

So, I was excited about getting home tonight – at the end of my working week – and picking the first aubergine for curry.

The curries I make are very simple. I’ve worked out how to make them in the slow cooker, so with almost no electricity and mostly ingredients I’ve grown myself, this was dirt to cheap.

First, I put oil in the pot and fried an onion. Then I added the spices, which tonight were tumeric, cumin, bay leaf, mustard and cayenne pepper (I need to grind some more coriander seeds as I have no powder left). Finally, I added the aubergines with a fresh cayenne pepper, tomatoes, sweet green peppers and garlic, which I left to cook until all was soft.

image

Home-grown ingredients for curry

Served on a bed of rice, it didn’t take me long to polish it off. Very happy now!

© Helen Butt, October 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Home-grown curry: aubergine

  1. drofmit4108 says:

    Nice Aubergine…
    just look at that gloss!
    But, as Pauline keeps asking me [of all people]…
    how does one know when an Aubergine is ready!??
    And that looks like a well loved chopping board….

    • Helen says:

      I wondered too when you know an aubergine is ready…. I think it is when it’s a bit softer than the one I picked yesterday. However, after an hour and a half in my fast slow cooker, there was no sense that it was under-ripe 🙂

      Yes, my chopping board is well loved lol!

  2. Benjamin says:

    Congratations on your first aubergine… And many happy returns! 🙂

    • Helen says:

      Thank you!

      I’m fascinated by these aubergines – one small plant is growing two of them. Needs a lot of water, though, being in a small pot.

  3. mybrightlife says:

    Yum! Very rewarding.

  4. Congratulations! I have only had one ‘normal’ sized aubergine. I have found them very difficult to grow, and had more success with shop bought plants. You have done really well, ans I have egg plant envy.

  5. Karen says:

    How nice to still have a growing garden and that it provided a nice meal.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

