Bramble patch solved!

Yesterday, at the permaculture farm I had the idea of planting strawberry plants round the blackberry bush after I move it to its new location in order to cut down on the number of weeds. However, the immediate snag was where to source strawberry plants at this time of year.

Well, that might have been solved from a source within my very own garden. In short, whilst preparing this season’s garlic bed, I needed to do
up the strawberry plants which have grown out of the ones I put in a trench last autumn. The original idea had been to dispose of them in this fashion as there was no more room in the compost bin at that time. Then lo and behold they started sprouting out of the ground this spring.

But now that looks very much like a blessing. I can’t plant the plants until I’ve moved the blackberry bush so I will have to do a spot of twilight potting but that should do for a week, till I can next spend any serious amount of time in the garden.

I’m the meantime, I’ve got most of the garlic in. Now, it’s yet another waiting game till either the crab apple tree arrives or I pull out the Chinese cabbage. Still, I’m pleased with the progress made todayπŸ˜„.

IMG_0030.JPG

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Bramble patch solved!

  1. Blackberries and Strawberries sound delicious to me. That will really fill in that spot. Your garden is really coming together. Have you really stood back and seen how much that you have accomplished this year? You should be really proud of yourself.

    Honey

    • Helen says:

      Thank you! I did come across a photo from this time last year, which was quite interesting. I have got more stuff of a perennial nature at the back of the garden, so that should be something interesting to look at over the winter😊.

  2. Great work and looking good, Helen. I really have to find my mojo and plant my garlic!

  3. Wow! You have a whole bed to dedicate to garlic? Jealous.

  4. Hurray for progress. And congratulations on your pumpkins. Pumpkin bread is sold in coffee shops here this time of year. It’s more sweat than savory, and baked in a loaf pan. Another idea for a future crop perhaps.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

