First Jerusalem artichoke crop

Now that the first pumpkin has been mostly consumed, there is space in my kitchen for Jerusalem artichokes.

I had been dubious of these being ready yet to be dug up. At the local organic farm, I’ve not seen them before January. At the same time, they are supposed to be ready by late autumn and we are officially there now, so I decided to start with the ones in the grow bag.

Another gleaning from my readings is that Jerusalem artichokes aren’t necessarily the best croppers, so I was intrigued to see what came out of the bag. In the event, the tubers weighed in at about three quarters of a pound. Is that what you could expect from one original tuber?

IMG_0046.JPG

One thing which may have affected the outcome is the amount of water the artichokes did or rather didn’t receive. The compost in the bag was very dry even though it rained last night and it did get watered on a regular basis. So, I now realise that anything in pots and bags really do need large amounts of liquid.

The other artichokes are in the ground, so it will be interesting to see how they have fared. Will the tubers have developed more than the ones in the picture below?

IMG_0045.JPG

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First Jerusalem artichoke crop

  1. I have never grown Jerusalem artichoke before. I would think that the ones in the ground will be larger but who knows 🙂 good luck!

    • Helen says:

      Many of the tubers in the bag were unformed, so my guess is lack of water. But there is always the possibility of time, so the ones in the ground could be growing yet. Thank you, anyway, Julie!

  2. I haven’t tried growing them either so I’m very interested to hear what you find. I wonder if like postatoes grown in sacks that the crops are smaller than in the ground – or maybe that’s just me!

    • Helen says:

      I will no doubt post about the ones that come out the ground – but I imagine this phenomenon is the same for any crop. Mind you, I’ve only ever grown potatoes on purpose in a bag, so I haven’t got a lot to go on!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

