Blue tits

I couldn’t have asked for a better day to go to Harlow Carr for a top-up of books from the lending library there. After the dismal rain and grey skies recently, it was pleasing to walk round the gardens in the sunshine and see what’s been going on recently.

IMG_0163.JPG

I love the little extras such as the carving in the photo above. Equally, I love spending time at the bird-feeding station. You might just be able to make out the pheasant(s) and the squirrel which were taking advantage of the seed dropped by the blue tits, which unfortunately were a little harder to photograph.

IMG_0162.JPG

A family of these beautiful little birds can, according to a sign by the feeding station, eat up to a million aphids during the breeding season. So, they are well worth encouraging into the garden, both over winter and during their breeding season with food laid on for them.

I’ve not seen any blue tits so far this winter in my garden but the robins have been a joy to watch. And they deserve a helping hand, too. So, the latest fat ball I’ve made from kitchen scraps will be going out in the mini bird-feeding I bought this afternoon. And you never know, I might even be able to get a decent picture of my garden visitors using it😊.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Blue tits

  1. What a great picture! I am surprised that you could get the pheasants and the squirrel to allow you to take the photo. I tried to post picture this weekend or rather a film or our bird feeding station and I couldn’t get it to work. I agree the birds fly in and out so quickly-
    thanks for sharing
    Honey

    • Helen says:

      Glad you liked the photo, Honey. Perhaps I should have taken a photo of the observation hut… Anyway, we were inside a hut so could watch the wildlife unobtrusively – and it was very entertaining😍.

      I hope you can get some photos of your birds!

      • I didn’t know that you were in an observation hut. That explains why they were unafraid. We have been feeding the birds since we moved in here. We have not learned the names of all the species. They are beautiful and like you said very entertaining to watch.The first year we had one wood pecker show up. Everyone said that was quite rare, because they are so wary of people. Then there was two mating pair.One of the pairs had a baby. We have more and more birds every year.

        Our dogs love watching them from our kitchen window as much as we do. Everytime we go out the front door it feels like a clip from the Alfred Hitchcock movie “The Birds. The new birds fly away. The regulars just keep eating. A few brave little souls even stay as I am refilling the feeders.
        I have film, that Hubby took this weekend, but I need to figure out how to post it. Hubby is going to have to help me.
        Honey

        • Helen says:

          Well, good luck posting the video!

          I think I am getting more and more birds, too, though it is hard to guage when I haven’t kept a record…

  2. Hi Helen … oh how I would like those birds in my garden. They would have a ball .. lots of aphids about especially on the roses! 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

