Up with the garden path: Part Seven (The Garden Gate)

I’ve been deliberating for many months over the issue of removing the garden gate, which leads onto the communal path to get the bins out of mine and my neighbour’s properties. Did I really have the courage to go through with it? After all, this was a voyage with no return ticket if I did!

However, in the end I knew that it had to be done, if ever I am to dispense with the old garden path which led up to it and have my coveted mini greenhouse. Had the municipal bins not been of such large proportions and not so numerous – oh, and had the apple tree not already been planted long before the concept of seriously reshaping the garden been formulated – the path could conceivably have remained. But no, it is no good living with hypotheticals, so here is one final shot of what is now a convenient gap to get the bins out.

IMG_0168.JPG

On a roll, I decided to prune the apple tree and take down the last of the runner bean plants. Great fodder for the third hugel bed. This is where the second hawthorn bush had been – and where grazing rye had failed to grow. Was there something wrong with the seeds or was this soil simply so in need of TLC that even quick growing green manure could not thrive? Well, I’m not waiting to find out… I would actually like to grow something there next year.

IMG_0169.JPG

Anyway, while I’m waiting for spring to appear, I’ll have a go at dismantling the gate so that a friend can put it on her wood burner, along with the remnants of the hawthorn bush I’ve saved for her😊.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Up with the garden path: Part Seven (The Garden Gate)

  1. drofmit4108 says:

    Helen, remnants of the hawthorn for your friend… yes…
    but the gate and fence will have been pressure treated with “the gods only know what”….
    treated wood and painted wood are both dangerous in a wood burner.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

