Strawberry runners

Today it was apple tree pruning in the orchard at the permaculture farm near Ripon in North Yorkshire where we do voluntary work once a month. Thanks to this, I now have a better understanding of how to look after my own apple tree in the future.

This, however, was not the only bonus of going there on a rather bitter December morning. Rachel, who runs the farm with her husband, had read my blog and noted that I was trying to establish a forest garden of my own, so kindly offered to give me some of their strawberry runners.

Strawberries are a brilliant form of ground cover, as they not only cover the ground, which reduces weeds and soil erosion, but produce a crop too. In a well-established forest garden the strawberries become less productive, due to the tree canopy creating too much shade. I doubt this will happen in my garden, though. For a start, my apple tree is growing so slowly, its branches are unlikely ever to create very much shade. It’s also unlikely I could have sufficient trees (and certainly of any size) in the small space I have.

Anyway, I’ve now got a nice bag of strawberry plants with additional runners to fill the nascent forest garden I’m trying to establish. Thanks, Rachel!

IMG_0197.JPG
The strawberry plants/runners were taken from one of their raised beds.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Strawberry runners

  1. Jane says:

    Will have to pick your brains when my raised beds finalllllllly go in .. sigh.. hate relying on others lol

  2. That was so thoughtful of Rachel to give you some strawberry runners.
    Honey

  3. permiechick says:

    This is lovely. Strawberries and Apples are such a great combination. I have them paired in my young forest garden as well but unfortunately pack rats found them and decided the berries were good to munch on and the runners made good winter food 😦 Oh well, we can only try, observe, and try again!

    • Helen says:

      Shame about the rats eating your strawberry plants. There have been rats in garden but they only seemed interested in sleeping in my daughter’s Wendy house and digging up cauliflower seedlings!

      Anyway, I’m interested to see more of your forest garden. Thanks for commenting and following😊.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

