Chinese cabbage

The resilience of nature comes to mind when I look at the beleaguered Chinese cabbage.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/cc4/35011600/files/2014/12/img_0232.jpg
The seedlings were started off quite late – sometime after midsummer – but they grew well once planted in the ground. Until the cabbage white butterflies took a fancy to them. But I picked the caterpillars off the leaves and once more the plants went on their way.
The next set of caterpillars were something else. What I don’t know. They didn’t last long, going the same way, off and thrown into the middle of the garden. By my reckoning, the distance would be great enough from the cabbages to prevent a re-infestation. And indeed it was.
Then before I knew it, an unknown creature had decided to strip the soft bit of all the outer leaves, which is where we are now. However, since the hearts are still seemingly growing, I have decided to overwinter the cabbages to see if they produce an edible crop next spring. That means they will have been in the ground at least double the length of time suggested on the seed packet. Sigh!
The moral of the story is that this particular variety of cabbage is best sown early in the year. Whether or not this happens next year remains to be seen…. As long as I get a couple of decent size heads I will be happy, though.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chinese cabbage

  1. andy1076 says:

    Dang, nature always has to leave it’s mark no matter what you do huh

  2. Oh dear slugs and snails maybe? Shame ..

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

