The disappearing front lawn

Last year, I mused over what to do with my front garden. It was basically lawn with a tiny patch of pebble-infested clay under the window. At first, I thought about putting some plants in the latter and doing nothing with the lawn in the short term.

That, however, was last year.

Whilst away for New Year, I dipped into a book on creating a forest garden and became enthused with new ideas. Now, a full-blown forest in front of the house would be highly impracticable, so much as I would like more fruit trees or a willow, perhaps, these ideas were quickly put aside.

On the other hand, there is certainly room for a fuchsia or two. And there are herbs which would be okay on the north side of the house. So, I can have ground cover and pretty flowers, I hope – something which is pleasant to look at both from inside and out, as well as providing me with edibles in one form or another.

First, though, the lawn has got to go. I already had cardboard and indeed I acquired some more today, along with four bags of horse manure. Not enough to complete the job but I’ve taken the leap at least.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/cc4/35011600/files/2015/01/img_0333.jpg

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The disappearing front lawn

  1. Helen, I’m doing this too with half of our back lawn. We’ll have to compare notes as time goes by.
    Congratulations on taking the first step. I didn’t have enough cardboard to start either, but I went for it anyway, then collected along the way.

  2. Oh best of luck … how exciting!

  3. Lovely post Helen i look forward to seeing how it comes along thanks for sharing

  4. How does the cardboard/manure thing work? My front garden upsets me but I can’t quite bring myself to commit to sorting it out!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

