First shoots of 2015

Over the Christmas holidays I got quite excited when I saw some shoots coming through. My excitement diminished somewhat however when I remembered I had planted garlic in this spot and not spring bulbs. Oh well!

Then today there is the unmistakable green point of a flower bulb coming through in the bay tree pot😊. Thankfully, I marked down on my garden plan that this is a tulip. A bit early, so hopefully it will withstand the rest of the winter and I will get to see a pretty pink flower in spring!

2015/01/img_0371.jpg

As if this wasn’t good news enough, I am so pleased with the new arrangement in my dining room. Another Christmas event was acquiring a secondhand table and chairs which are just right for this tiny space.

2015/01/img_0372.jpg

Amazing how space can liberate the mind. Now, so much more seems possible. Not least, the old table can become the stand for a sewing machine which has languished in a cupboard under the stairs ever since I moved in. So, maybe I will finally make suitable curtains for the back door, and, and, and…

Last but by no means least, on my travels at New Year, I found a thermos jug in a charity shop. Then I learned that this could be used to make yoghurt. And indeed it does. So, I have now discovered another way to reduce the amount of plastic (yoghurt pots are not routinely recyclable around here) going into landfill.

2015/01/img_0355.jpg

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Health, In the kitchen, Make do and mend, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to First shoots of 2015

  1. Lovely post Helen thank you for sharing

  2. Great to see those green shoots!

  3. Hey Helen, you can’t beat homemade yoghurt! Shame that they can’t recycle those pots though .. Good luck with that tulip 🙂

    • Helen says:

      I will post an update on the tulip….

      Anyway, re the yoghurt pots, they can appaprently be recycled via my place of work. But then work has to pay for the waste to be taken away and it is yet another storage bin for me. Besides, I wonder how much of anything really gets recycled?

      Well, off to have some of that homemade yoghurt now😉.

  4. I like your new/second hand kitchen table and chairs. Did you revarnish and repaint them! They look in great condition.
    Having a sewing table would be a great thing to have. I use my kitchen table for my sewing table. We might see our kitchen table again by spring. Have fun letting those creative juices flow!
    The thermos idea for making yogurt was a great tip.
    Seeing that tulip breaking ground must make you get excited about this years garden. I know I am dreaming about what to do in our garden this year…
    Honey

    • Helen says:

      Thanks for such positive comments, Honey!

      The table and chairs were bought as you see them in the picture. The woman I bought them from apologised for asking for £30 but to me they were well worth that price😊.

      Why can you not see your kitchen table at the moment?

      • I think 30 £ was a good price for the table and chairs.

        I can’t see my table because it is covered with my sewing machine and sewing projects. Remember last spring when I talked about trying to catch up on mending. I never got it done because of spring and planting inside early. We used our kitchen table for our seedlings.Then I got sick.

        I am trying to catch up on two years worth of sewing,mending and projects. It has been nice to have a hobby during the dark of winter. I do a little 3-4 times of week. Needless to say we have not eaten at our kitchen table much this winter LOL. My goal is to totally catch up. That way I will keep my sewing pile to a managable size after that.

        I am determined to get as much done as possible. I put it all away for Christmas and New Years. It is time to pull it back out and finish it. I have 4 summer dresses that need altering. I would love to wear them this year.
        Honey

        • Helen says:

          I hope achieve all your aims, Honey. I’m very much a novice with a sewing machine – would be lovely to see some of your handiwork😊.

          • I have found some great sewing tutortials on the web. They are for beginner to advanced sewing. They are really informative and helpful. I have learned a lot about sewing.
            I have been repairing jacket, coats, jeans,patching up wholes in pants,replacing zippers,replacing pocket linings,taking up dresses hems, repatching quilted throw pillow and more. I am relearning how to sew. It has been years since I sewed.
            I guess I could think about posting pictures.I will think about it.
            Honey

          • Helen says:

            Well, great that you can do so many things!

  5. I love your new table. Its quite charming.

    I’m happy to hear you’ll now have a dedicated sewing table. I love to sew, but find that the process of dragging out the machine from the cupboard, then setting it up in the middle of our living room, or at our dining table, is a nuisance. I’m going to think about a way to make this happen. Thanks for the inspiration.

  6. I can not wait to see the beautiful tulips that bloom.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

