New eyes

2015/01/img_0402-0.jpg

This afternoon was a bit different from the usual trip into Leeds city centre. For a start, I was with my sewing bee. And whereas I would normally rush round the two or three places I needed to buy something from and then be back on the train home, this time I experienced a vintage cafe, followed by a browse in a fabric shop before moving onto a vintage fair and a haberdashery.

Even though I want to source as much material from pre-loved sources, I couldn’t resist the sampler in the picture below.

2015/01/img_0404.jpg

I still haven’t done any work on my sewing machine, which finally came out of the cupboard a week or so ago. And if I don’t get a move on gardening will be in full swing again. For anyone familiar with the Belbin test, in a team I might be the person who starts ideas off but getting me to finish, well that’s something else!

Notwithstanding, seeing through new eyes means new perspectives and these I think can not only keep the positive alive but stop an unhealthy rut from setting in. Thus, with loads more ideas whirling round in my mind, the clutter might not be going down quite as I might like (cf. ‘Designing a life’) but the cushion at the start of this post tells another part of the essence of me🌼.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Make do and mend, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New eyes

  1. Ah, wish i could sew. But then i dont have a machine either! Good luck with that sewing 🙂

  2. mybrightlife says:

    Ahhh! A new favorite for me too!! Go Marilyn!

  3. I love the quote. I did not know that it was Marilyn Monroe who said it.
    Honey

  4. You can do it. Have fun.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

