Shrouding the broad beans

I don’t know about you but to me 6 degrees feels little different from 1 or even -1. It certainly feels bitter out there and I don’t think the broad beans will be happy, especially if the weather forecast for later in the week comes true.

At the same time, the beans have been stoic in the face of adversity. In fact, they were starting to get too tall for the fleece that was placed over the growbag to keep out the chill. So, I’ve put a couple of stakes in the bag and re-wrapped the fleece round the whole.

2015/01/img_0410.jpg

It’s a bit of a tatty monument but all being well it will help the broad beans withstand the predicted snow, which is expected to last longer than the one day event last week. In any case, I’m pleased to be re-using the fleece which I used to use before I bought the cloches, which look tidier and allow for greater growth when crops are in the ground 😊.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shrouding the broad beans

  1. i read the title as shouting. Was going to ask why, and had they bean misbehaving…

  2. Thank you for sharing Helen i hope they stand up to the weather i am debating to whether put planting a crown and the bilbs in the ground

  3. Oh what a good girl you are! Pity you dont live closer .. I have bags of wool looking for a new home. Good luck with those broadbeans 🙂

    • Helen says:

      Thank you, Julie! Fortunately, having looked at the forecast on my phone, it might snow but the temp should be four degrees… Fingers crossed 😉

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

