The rhubarb in its castle

It might only be 6 degrees outside, according to my phone, but after doing a bit in the garden it feels very pleasant sitting on my patio. In fact, whilst working I felt the need to remove my coat. When was the last time that happened?

Anyway, onto what I was doing…. Fertilising the rhubarb no less!

Recently, I collected twigs from around the garden and along with prunings from the roses, I made the base for a hugel bed. This was topped with straw, manure and compost, which I hope will feed my favourite perennial. My dad gets the most amazing sticks of rhubarb – has put a lot of goodness into his soil – and it would be fantastic if mine could produce something even halfway similar.

Last year, I got car bootfuls of the stuff, because it grew in abundance at the allotment I then had. Remembering this and how busy I was there gives me a twinge of sadness that I don’t have the plot anymore. It was a mild winter but in any case with so much ground clearance to do, there was none of this year’s waiting for the true gardening season to begin again.

Still, if I want to make the best of my garden, it is good I have moved on. So, let’s see how this rhubarb fares with lots of food wrapped round it!

IMG_0437

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The rhubarb in its castle

  1. That soil looks so rich. Here’s to an abundant rhubarb harvest! AoF x

    • Helen says:

      Ah, my soil! I guess it does look good but it needs lots of organic matter to get it up to speed, hence the hugel bed round the rhubarb.

      The idea is that the twigs will gradually decompose under the manure etc and nitrogen will be released slowly, thus not overloading the plant it is supposed to be fertilising.

      Anyway, thank you for hoping I have an abundant rhubarb harvest πŸ™‚

  2. I hope you’re as successful as your dad. It looks like you’ve learned a lot. How do you prepare your rhubarb?

    • Helen says:

      Generally, I stew it. Last year, I had enough to make jam but so far that’s as much as I’ve made myself. I love rhubarb crumble (basically, stewed rhubarb with a topping made of crumbed batter).

      Just realised it won’t be long till the first forced rhubarb is ready and there is a pub near me which does the crumble πŸ™‚

  3. afarmingartist says:

    I am trying my hand at rhubarb this year. Can I expect a crop the first year? What do you make with it? I want to try pie and preserves.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

